UNESCO Learning City Award

What is the UNESCO Learning City Award?

The UNESCO Learning City Award has been established to encourage and reward progress achieved in developing learning cities around the world. The Award is conferred on cities that have achieved outstanding progress in building learning cities by implementing the Key Features of Learning Cities, i.e. by:

  • promoting inclusive learning from basic to higher education;
  • revitalizing learning in families and communities;
  • facilitating effective learning for and in the workplace;
  • extending the use of modern learning technologies;
  • enhancing quality and excellence in learning; and
  • fostering a culture of learning throughout life.

2017 Awardees

Sixteen cities across all UNESCO regions have been selected for the UNESCO Learning City Award 2017. All of these cities have made outstanding progress in implementing the Key Features of Learning Cities. The 2017 Awardees are: Bristol (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Câmara de Lobos (Portugal), Contagem (Brazil), Gelsenkirchen (Germany), Giza (Egypt), Hangzhou (China), Larissa (Greece), Limerick (Ireland), Mayo-Baléo (Cameroon), N’Zérékoré (Guinea), Okayama (Japan), Pécs (Hungary), Surabaya (Indonesia), Suwon (Republic of Korea), Tunis (Tunisia), Villa María (Argentina).

Information Note

To recognize outstanding achievements and practice in implementing the learning city concept, UNESCO has established the biennial UNESCO Learning City Award. Cities are awarded for their efforts to develop into a leaning city, but receipt of the Award does not mean that UNESCO has designated them ‘learning cities’. Members of the UNESCO GNLC are eligible to apply for the UNESCO Learning City Award, which is valid for one award cycle.