The 2015 UNESCO Learning City Award

30 September 2015

The UNESCO Learning City Award

UNESCO established the biennial UNESCO Learning City Award – the first award of its kind – to encourage and reward progress achieved in developing learning cities around the world. Only members of the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities are eligible to apply for the award. Applicants are asked to showcase their actions by submitting a report consisting of three main sections:

  • Basic general information on the city              
  • The city’s overall strategy for developing into a learning city
  • One example of innovation or good practice

Up to six cities per region may receive the Award in each Award cycle.

Recipients of the 2015 Learning City Award

The inaugural UNESCO Learning City Award was presented to twelve cities across all UNESCO regions in 2015. All of these cities have made outstanding progress in implementing the Key Features of Learning Cities since the 1st Conference. The cities are: Melton (Australia), Sorocaba (Brazil), Beijing (China), Bahir Dar (Ethiopia), Espoo (Finland), Cork (Ireland), Amman (Jordan), Mexico City (Mexico), Ybycuí (Paraguay), Balanga (Philippines), Namyangju (Republic of Korea) and Swansea (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland).

Case studies of these cities are featured in a recent publication entitled Unlocking the Potential of Urban Communities: Case Studies of Twelve Learning Cities.

Please also find summaries of the cases here.

The application process for the 2017 UNESCO Learning City Award will open in April 2016 and close on 30 September 2016.