2017 awardees

© Darragh Kane Photography

Sixteen cities across all UNESCO regions have been selected for the UNESCO Learning City Award 2017. All of these cities have made outstanding progress in implementing lifelong learning opportunities for all. The 2017 awardees were: Bristol (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Câmara de Lobos (Portugal), Contagem (Brazil), Gelsenkirchen (Germany), Giza (Egypt), Hangzhou (China), Larissa (Greece), Limerick (Ireland), Mayo-Baléo (Cameroon), N’Zérékoré (Guinea), Okayama (Japan), Pécs (Hungary), Surabaya (Indonesia), Suwon (Republic of Korea), Tunis (Tunisia), Villa María (Argentina).