First cohort completes UNESCO e-learning course on adult education

27 December 2018

Participants from nine Member States[*] took part in UNESCO’s first e-learning course on mainstreaming adult learning and non-formal education into education sector plans from 2 October to 27 November.

The country teams consisted of experts from ministries of education and other education stakeholders, who undertook the eight-week course in order to develop their capacities to analyse and prepare adult learning and non-formal education strategies within the framework of education sector plans.

The practice-orientated course covered three main topics: 

  1. Understanding of key concepts including lifelong learning, adult learning and education, non-formal education, and youth and adult literacy.
  2. Conducting an education sector analysis to identify challenges for the adult learning/non-formal education sub-sector.
  3. Developing strategies for adult learning and non-formal education in education sector plans.

According to Ali Akbari, course team co-ordinator from Afghanistan’s Literacy Department in the Ministry of Education, the course will ‘contribute [to the] further development of adult learning and non-formal education in Afghanistan.’ Imelda Kyaringabira Engabi, course team co-ordinator from Uganda’s Department of Community Development and Literacy in the Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development, said she was ‘looking forward to addressing the lifelong learning needs of learners using the acquired knowledge, skills and experiences’.

UNESCO will provide country-specific support and training as the participating countries embark on planning and implementing their plans. 

The course was jointly developed by the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL) and the UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning (IIEP). Information regarding the next round of training will be announced soon.

To read the course overview, visit http://uil.unesco.org/event/uil-and-iiep-online-course-lifelong-learning.

[*] Afghanistan, Kenya, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nigeria, Uganda and Zambia